Pot Luck Friday: Alzheimer's. Full Fat Milk. Vegan Recipe.

You never know what you're going to get for dinner at my house on a Friday.  If I picked up our CSA share on Thursday it could be something fresh, local and delicious.  If not, chances are it's something local and delicious but possibly a lot more random, like the leftovers from meals earlier in the week.  Today's post is something like that...random thoughts that have caught my eye over the last couple of weeks.

More than one member of my family has been diagnosed with Alzheimer's disease in my lifetime.  As a result, I have started following research and news on the Alzheimer's front.  There is a growing body of evidence that Alzheimer's, along with other diseases such as Parkinson's and MS, have some correlations with diabetes, gluten and medium chain triglycerides.  For me, this presents even more reasons to kick the carbohydrate/grain/sugar habit.

http://jewishbusinessnews.com/2014/01/30/israeli-researcher-develops-molecules-to-reduce-diabetics-alzheimers-and-dementia-risk/

https://tulane.edu/news/releases/pr_10282013.cfm

There is also a great story on the potential of MCT oil in the treatment of Alzheimer's disease on an old episode of the Fit Fat Fast podcast.  Download it from Itunes or check it out online:

http://www.fitfatfast.com/ep-27-coconuts-ketones-and-proper-running/#more-507

NPR had a story last week regarding full fat dairy...

http://www.npr.org/blogs/thesalt/2014/02/12/275376259/the-full-fat-paradox-whole-milk-may-keep-us-lean

Finally, one of my favorite vegan recipes is Upside Down Shepherd's Pie from Isa Chandra Moskowitz's Appetite for Reduction.  (I first heard about the cookbook via No Meat Athlete http://www.nomeatathlete.com, a good blog for the plant-based runner or triathlete).  While you need to watch the carb count in some of the recipes, I have enjoyed virtually everything I have made from the book.  Plus, there are a lot of informative tips on tracking down vegan ingredients and recipe preparation.  The recipes are a great way to work more vegetables into your diet.  And whether you are vegan, vegetarian, vegicurious, paleo, low carb, NSNG, ASD (American Standard Diet), etc., I think everyone agrees the world would be a better place if we all just ate more vegetables.    

Anyway, I made Upside Down Shepherd's Pie again last week and it was delicious.  I like it because the mushroom/lentil combo makes it very filling.  I made mashed potatoes for JMac but served mine over caulibrocs.  Mashed caulibrocs or mashed broccoli or cauliflower has become my go to substitute for rice, quinoa or any other grain dish that might be served with Asian or Indian food.  To make caulibrocs, steam equal parts broccoli and cauliflower.  (I steam quite a bit and freeze any leftovers).  Once the vegetables are tender, pour out the water.  Mash the veggies with a potato masher.  Drizzle with a little olive oil and add salt and pepper to taste.  Voila!  Caulibrocs!  Here is a link to Isa's website, where she also has some free recipes from the cookbook:  http://www.theppk.com/books/appetite-for-reduction/

Happy Friday and have a wonderful weekend.  Don't forget, respect yourself, eat real food!