2014 Race Schedule

Last year I split my season into two with the first half being triathlon-focused (MusselMan Half Iron) and the second half focusing on mountain biking (IceMan).  That was a huge step outside my comfort zone because although I wanted to improve my mountain biking skills, I had never participated in a mountain bike race before.  The thought terrified me particularly since I had selected the largest mountain biking race in the country as my "A" mountain biking race.  But all is well that ends well.  I really enjoyed my mountain biking season, bumps, bruises and all.  IceMan was fantastic.  And I had a great time at the local races that I competed in.  So that brings me to 2014.  This year I am combining triathlon and mountain biking once again but this time into one season and one A race, Xterra Marquette Epic.  I love upstate Michigan and always look for an opportunity to head up north, as they say.  So here is the lineup:

Barry Roubaix, MI
March 22
Gravel road race
OMBC Mountain Bike Series, OH
Various
Mountain bike
Clay’s Park Sprint Tri, OH
May 24
Triathlon
Xterra East Fork Tri, OH
June 21
Xterra triathlon
HFP Vermillion Olympic Tri, OH
August 17
Triathlon
Xterra Marquette EPIC Tri, MI
September 13
Xterra triathlon

I specifically targeted a September race, when the temperatures have cooled off some.  After Marquette I will wrap up the OMBC series with the last two races of the season.  Several races on the calendar are new venues for me and I'm excited to check them out.  Looking forward to a healthy and fun season!