Destination Moab: What Mountains Are Those?

During our Tour d’Arches NP on Wednesday, we kept seeing these beautiful snow-capped mountains off in the distance.  In and out of the clouds, they appeared to be experiencing some weather. 

One, in particular, captivated me.  It didn’t look like the tallest but seemed to be a perfect pyramid mountain shape.  After we left the park, I inquired to JMac, “I wonder what those mountains are?”  The rest of the conversation went like this…

What I heard:

Me:  I wonder what those mountains are?

JMac:  South.

Me:  They’re not south.  They’re east.

JMac:  South.

Me:  That’s not south.  The sun is setting over there (me pointing west) which makes over there (me pointing towards the mountains) east.  Maybe southeast but not south.

JMac:  South.

Me:  What?

JMac:  La Sal.

Me:  La Sal?

JMac:  Yes.  La Sal.  They are the La Sal Mountains.

Me:  Oh.  La Sal.  How did you know that?

JMac:  Who do you think you’re talking to?

Me:  True.

How the conversation actually went, according to JMac:

Me:  I wonder what those mountains are?

JMac:  La Sal.

Me:  They’re not south.  They’re east.

JMac:  La Sal.

Me:  That’s not south.  The sun is setting over there (me pointing west) which makes over there (me pointing towards the mountains) east.  Maybe southeast but not south.

JMac:  La Sal.

Me:  What?

JMac:  La Sal.

Me:  La Sal?

JMac:  Yes.  La Sal.  They are the La Sal Mountains.

Me:  Oh.  La Sal.  How did you know that?

JMac:  Who do you think you’re talking to?

Me:  True.

And to think we’re just hitting our forties now.